HelloID's Data Management module allows you to manage access to your shared folders through an easy-to-use web interface. Changes to permissions are tracked and easily audited.
Access to the Data Management module, and which shared folders that you are able to manage, are defined by your HelloID Administrator. If you do not see the module, or do not see your shared folders, contact your system administrator.
To get started, open the HelloID Dashboard and click on the Data management link.
Data Management Overview
Here is an overview of what you will see on the Data Management page.
- Search bar
Search for a folder by name. This is useful when there are many shared folders available to you.
- Folder list
This is a list of all folders available to you. You may expand the folder list by clicking on the arrow to the left of the folder's name, which will display any subfolders. You may also add additional folders by clicking on the Add subfolder link. Permissions for a particular folder may be modified by clicking on the Manage users link.
The History pane shows an audit log of what operations have been performed on which folders, and when. This information is a useful audit trail to know exactly who had access to a folder at any given time.
Add, Remove, and Edit Permissions to a Folder
In the folder list, find the folder to which you want to add or remove access. Click on the Manage users link underneath the Actions column.
This will display a new panel for managing user rights on the selected folder, as shown below.
- Search bar
You may search the existing user permissions by typing into this search box.
- Archive/inheritance options
If your administrator has enabled these options, you may mark a folder for archival or block permission inheritance from its parent folder. Archival will remove all permissions to the folder.
- Existing user permissions
This list displays users who currently have access to the folder, and what permissions they possess. User permissions may be removed by clicking on the Withdraw link.
- New user addition
Use this pane to search for users who you wish to add, and which permissions you wish to grant them.
In the New user addition pane, search for the person to whom you wish to grant folder permissions. Once you find them, click their name to add them to the list. You may add multiple people at one time by typing and searching again.
Select the permissions you wish to assign ("Write" in this example), and then click the Add user link. The users will then be added to the permissions list.
In the Existing user permissions pane, find the person whose permissions you wish to remove, and then click on the Withdraw link next to their name. They will be removed from the permissions list, and will no longer have access to the folder.
In the Existing user permissions pane, find the person whose permissions you wish to modify. Under the Permissions column, click on the dropdown box and select the new permission that you wish to apply. In this example, we will be changing permissions from "Write" to "Read".
Once you select the new permission level, the permissions on the folder are updated and the user's level of access is modified accordingly.
Create a Subfolder
Once you have been granted access to manage a data share, you may create sub folders in that share as you see fit. To create a folder, click on the Add subfolder link next to desired parent folder.
This will bring up a small dialog box, prompting you for the name of the new folder. In this example, we will create a folder called Purchase Orders. Type the name of your folder, and click the Add Folder button.
The new folder will be added underneath its parent folder, and a history record will be added.
Archive a Folder
If a folder is no longer necessary or relevant, and users should no longer have access to it, it may be appropriate to archive the folder. Archiving a folder will remove all permissions to the target folder, and the folder will be displayed as an archive in the HelloID Dashboard.
Find the folder that you wish to archive, and click the Manage users link.
In the pane that appears, click the Mark for archive button.
Note: The ability to archive a folder is determined by your HelloID Administrator. If you do not see the Mark for archive button, that means this ability has not been enabled. Contact your system administrator if you believe this to be in error.
You will be prompted to confirm your decision, as this is not reversible. If you are sure that you wish to continue, click the Mark for archive button in the dialog box.
Permissions to the folder will then be archived, a new history record will be added, and the icon for the folder will be updated in the folder list.
Block Permission Inheritance
By default, subfolders will inherit the permissions of their parents. If users have Write permissions on the parent folder, then any subfolders will also inherit that write permission.
You may want to override permission inheritance if you create a subfolder that should have more restrictive permissions than those of its parent. If users should only have read permissions to a subfolder, but write permissions to its parent, then inheritance will need to be blocked.
Find the subfolder on which you want to block inheritance, and click the Manage users link.
In the pane that appears, click the Block inheritance button.
Note: The ability to block permission inheritance is determined by your HelloID Administrator. If you do not see the Block inheritance button, that means this ability has not been enabled. Contact your system administrator if you believe this to be in error.
A dialog box will appear, prompting you to confirm your decision. If you are sure, click the Block inheritance button in the dialog box to continue.
Permission inheritance is then disabled on the folder in the file system, and the Manage user rights pane is updated to show that inheritance is blocked. The folder's icon in the folder list is also updated to show that permission inheritance is now blocked.
You may unblock inheritance by clicking on the Unblock inheritance button.