By default, end users do not have permissions to view or request Self Service products. In order to enable this feature, the appropriate permissions must be granted to them. Once the permissions have been granted, affected end users will be see one or more new links on the HelloID User Dashboard, as seen in the screenshots below.
Above: Before granting Self Service User permissions
Below: After granting Self Service User permissions
Create a Self Service Users Role
Follow the steps in this article to create a new role called Self Service Users. On the Rights tab of your new role, find the Self Service User group of permissions. You can enable the entire permission group, or selectively enable permissions for a more fine-grained approach.
- Product Overview: Assigns the Self Service products tab on the HelloID User Dashboard where users may submit product requests.
- Request Overview: Assigns the My Requests tab on the HelloID User Dashboard where users may view their requests.
- Revoke: Adds the option to withdraw requested products in the Request Overview.
- Return: Allows users to return assigned products.
- Remind: Allows users to send approval reminders to product owners.
- Report request Failed: Allows users to report request failures.
Add Users or Groups to the Self Service Users Role
Once you have created your Self Service Users role, you may add individual users or entire groups of users to its membership list. Members of the role will then be granted access to HelloID's Self Service User functionality.
If you want to grant Self Service permissions to everyone in your organization, you can add the default Users group. Otherwise, you may be more selective by adding individual users or groups with more limited memberships.